Austin Chapter Past President Jan Keeling files this report.

Thursday, January 16th, the view from the Headliners Club provided a beautiful perspective of a city that has changed and grown since the start of the Austin CPA Chapter in 1939; a city that has been served by our members and Chapter throughout all 75 years. The city may have changed but our Chapter has stayed on course for connecting, protecting and advancing the CPA profession during that time.

January 16th was our Chapter’s celebration of its 75th anniversary. More than 130 members, supporters, sponsors, scholarship recipients, and staff joined together to make this celebration a memorable event. Colleagues of more than 25 years, new friends, long-time friends, TSCPA’s chairman Willie Hornberger, and TSCPA’s CEO John Sharbaugh were all present for proclamations from the City of Austin, Texas Senate, and Texas House of Representatives commemorating the Chapter’s history. Headliners was the perfect venue with great food, a fabulous view, and the opportunity to enjoy one of Austin’s finest clubs while catching up with friends. With history videos courtesy of Guy Draper the past was revisited. With a photo booth new fun memories were made (click here for those special photos).

The event was a once in a lifetime opportunity for me to reflect and remember with gratitude why I’ve been a member of the Austin Chapter for 25 years. The next one won’t come around until the year 2039 when the Chapter celebrates its 100th anniversary. Mark your calendars!

Special thanks must be given to our generous sponsors. This event would not have been possible without their assistance:

Past Presidents of the Austin CPA Chapter
Accountability Resources, LLC

Atchley & Associates, LLP
Bette D. Williams, CPA, Austin Chapter President 1987-88
Maxwell, Locke & Ritter, LLP
Padgett Stratemann & Co., LLP
Robert Half
Scalco Johnson Leahy & Dudek CPAs PLLC
CohnReznick, LLP
Dynamic Systems, Inc.
Richard P. Slaughter Associates

Bedford Cost Segregation, LLC
Business Bank of Texas, N.A.
Faske Lay & Co., L.L.P.
Glass & Company CPAs PC
Guy Draper, CPA, New England Securities
Joyce Smith, CPA, CGMA, Austin Chapter President 1994-95
Michele M. Heyman, PLLC
Mondrik & Associates
Novogradac & Company LLP
Vaught Law Firm, PC
Wheeler Fairman & Kelley