For every program and event TXCPA Austin produces, there are several member volunteers behind each one. Whether they participate on a full committee, a task force or as an individual member, our volunteers are stars! On May 13, we thanked them with lunch at Fleming’s Steakhouse and invited special guest Julie Smith from Leadership Austin for a short presentation on Finding Your Why.

Although all of our volunteers deserve an award, a few members were also recognized for their contribution to TXCPA Austin over the past year:

Young CPA of the Year: Jessica Lopez, CPA
Member 40 years of age or younger who has made significant accomplishments within the profession, the chapter, the community and other professional organizations

CPA of the Year: Jeremy Myers, CPA
Member who has made a significant contribution or has attained recognition for the chapter or the profession; one who exemplifies the professional characteristics we admire and for which we want to be known

Committee Chair of the Year: Debra Watkins, CPA
Member who has led his or her committee in the most dynamic and outstanding manner during the year

President’s Service Award: Bryan Morgan, CPA
Awarded to the member(s) instrumental in making the TXCPA Austin President’s year of service a success

The TXCPA Accounting Excellence Award recipients in the Austin area are also recognized at this event. These are awarded to students selected by faculty at area universities based on accounting GPA and overall academic performance.
     Victoria Anton, Texas State University
     Reese Eller, University of Texas, Austin
     Dan Nguyen, St. Edward’s University

A BIG THANK YOU for these super volunteers and to everyone at the chapter who has made this a successful year!