Congratulations to the following TXCPA Austin members for their outstanding service during the 2019-20 year:

  • Rookie of the Year – Sarah Burgess-Finley
  • Young CPA of the Year – Bryan Morgan, CPA
  • Committee Chair of the Year – Lara Akinboye, CPA
  • Outstanding Operational Award – Jennifer Brown, CPA
  • CPA of The Year – Tracie Miller-Nobles, CPA
  • Distinguished Service Award – Kate Rhoden, CPA
  • President’s Service Award – Jeremy Myers, CPA

Rookie of the Year – Sarah Burgess-Finley
Despite recently moving here from California, Sarah has jumped in with both feet when it comes to her involvement with the chapter. From the Interview Workshop to Campus Events at ACC and St Edwards, Sarah has quickly become one of the most involved members of the chapter! She has even made a significant effort to get others from her firm involved in chapter activities! Keep up the good work, Sarah!

Young CPA of the Year – Bryan Morgan, CPA
Bryan is one of our most involved “young” members and a role model for others in the chapter. Bryan served as treasurer this past year and has been elected to serve as our next Manager-Community Involvement. In addition to all of his duties as treasurer, Bryan is also wonderfully committed to our LEAP members, attending or helping out at multiple LEAP events throughout the year. Bryan is also a participant in this year’s Pathway to Leadership class. It is a challenge at times to get folks from large firms to participate but time and time again Bryan has made the effort to help out wherever he can, to the great benefit of our members.

Committee Chair of the Year – Lara Akinboye, CPA
Lara joined TXCPA in 2016 and immediately joined the LEAP and Community Involvement Committees. Starting in 2018, Lara became the LEAP Chair and has managed the committee ever since. She is always present at LEAP events, including all Casino Nights (and planning them), happy hours, trivia nights and community involvement projects. LEAP is currently working on a virtual trivia night for mid-May and that information will be sent out soon. Lara finishes what she starts and has been a blessing to the chapter specifically in her efforts to get young/new members involved.

Outstanding Operational Award – Jennifer Brown, CPA
Jennifer serves as Controller at the Capital Area Council, Boy Scouts of America and has nobly served as Chapter President this year, a year of uncertainty and change. Jennifer’s calm nature has been a blessing as staff and members have needed to navigate through the changing times. Additionally, she has professionally and thoroughly led a chapter task force through the review of the proposed TXCPA Affiliation Agreement. She stepped up to be the point person to TXCPA from the Large Chapter group and is still working through this project as the Agreement has not yet been finalized. Thank you, Jennifer, for your flexibility and your reassuring attitude during these unprecedented times.

CPA of The Year – Tracie Miller-Nobles, CPA
Tracie consistently goes above and beyond for all of our student members, not just ACC students. She has helped to organize a Resume Review and Mock Interview Workshop as well as a providing etiquette and guidance to students on the basics of applying to sit for the exam. Her May 2 workshop had to be canceled but she quickly worked to find a way to virtually provide information to students. She has been involved in Scholarship Fundraising, Scholarship Committee, was instrumental in reimagining the Leadership Development Program into its current form, Pathway to Leadership. She currently serves as the Oversight Council Chair and will serve as treasurer next year. Thank you, Tracie for all of your contributions to the chapter and to keeping the pipeline to the profession flowing!

Distinguished Service Award – Kate Rhoden, CPA
Kate joined the TXCPA and the chapter in 2011 and has been active in a variety of endeavors since day one. Additionally, she is a member of the Institute of Internal Auditors, Information Systems Audit and Control Association, the Association of Public Pension Plan Auditors and the AICPA. Kate has served on the TXCPA Board of Directors since 2017. For 2019-2020, she served as a one year appointee to the TXCPA Executive Board, and will continue her service on the TXCPA Executive Board in 2020-2023. In 2018-2020 Kate served on the TXCPA Brand Implementation Task Force.

On the local level, Kate is a TXCPA Austin Past President (2017-2018) and has served on the Oversight Council and Executive Board and task force member for the Leadership Academy. She has volunteered as an usher at all Swearing In Ceremonies since her own licensure in 2010. In her year as President, she has worked closely with TXCPA’s CEO to negotiate a new TXCPA/Austin Chapter Management Agreement as well as a lease extension on the Austin office space. These are the two most important contracts for the Chapter. Kate chaired TXCPA Austin’s CFO/Controllers Conference Committee in 2017 and 2018, increasing the attendance by 25% over the two-year period.

Kate’s passion lies in the future of the profession, and her dedication to the profession is evident in her volunteer activities with accounting students. She is a frequent speaker at Austin Community College and local high schools, encouraging students to pursue the accounting degree and the CPA license. Additionally, she supports the profession in her duties as a member of the Austin Community College Accounting Department Advisory Committee (since 2014), which she chaired in 2014-2017.

Kate is a doer. If she says she is going to do something, she does it. We can always count on Kate!

President’s Service Award – Jeremy Myers, CPA
Jeremy will take the reins as TXCPA Austin President on June 1. During his year as President-Elect, he has been a steady and reliable force, assisting Jennifer through these unique times. Jennifer says she can always count on Jeremy for timely responses and thoughtful suggestions. She knows she is leaving the chapter is very capable hands and appreciates all his efforts in assisting her during the past year.