Congratulations to the following TXCPA Austin members for their outstanding service during the 2020-21 year:

  • Future CPA of the Year – Aarika Anderson
  • Rookie of the Year – Jason Lucio, CPA
  • Young CPA of the Year – Sarah Burgess-Finley, CPA
  • Committee Chair of the Year – Tracy Howard, CPA
  • CPA of The Year – Bryan Morgan, CPA
  • President’s Service Award – Tracie Miller Nobles, CPA

Future CPA of the Year – Aarika Anderson
Aarika has been at every LEAP event for the past few years and is the incoming co-chair of the committee. She’s been a valuable resource for the committee and is also on the Oversight Council as a student/candidate member. We look forward to her continued involvement and celebrating when she becomes a New CPA!

Rookie of the Year – Jason Lucio, CPA
Jason Lucio stepped up to serve as a TXCPA Director role for the new year and has been on the Oversight Council as a member at large for the past several years. He is on the LEAP Committee and is seen at every chapter event. He was the only one to make those cocktails at the holiday party!  Thanks for all your support, Jason!

Young CPA of the Year – Sarah Burgess-Finley, CPA
Despite recently moving here from California, Sarah has jumped in with both feet when it comes to her involvement with the chapter. From the Interview Workshop to Campus Events at ACC and St Edwards, Sarah has quickly become one of the most involved members of the chapter! She has even made a significant effort to get others from her firm involved in chapter activities!  Keep up the good work, Sarah!

Committee Chair of the Year – Tracy Howard, CPA
Tracy Howard is on her third year as chair for the Accounting and Finance Leaders Conference and has done an exceptional job with it each and every year. She’s passionate about the event and had great ideas for the 2020 conference when the pandemic hit. She agreed to chair the 2021 event in hopes to see her vision for the 2020 event implemented and will serve as the Manager-Education & Leadership in the new year.  Thanks, Tracy!

CPA of The Year – Bryan Morgan, CPA
Bryan Morgan is involved in many areas of the chapter with leadership roles but his passion is with assisting students and new CPAs.  This year he was instrumental in setting up the new Virtual Mentorship program, which meets every other week.  He is also dedicated to community service, regularly suggesting interesting way for members to give back to the community.  Bryan has served the chapter as treasurer and this year served as Manager of Community Involvement. Bryan is also wonderfully committed to our LEAP members, attending or helping out at multiple LEAP events throughout the year. Bryan is a graduate of the chapter’s Pathway to Leadership program. It is a challenge at times to get folks from large firms to participate but time and time again Bryan has made the effort to help out wherever he can, to the great benefit of our members.  Thanks for all you do and will continue to do, Bryan!

President’s Service Award – Tracie Miller Nobles, CPA
Tracie consistently goes above and beyond for all of our student members, not just ACC students.  She has helped to organize a Resume Review and Mock Interview Workshop as well as providing etiquette and guidance to students on the basics of applying to sit for the exam.  She stepped into the treasurer role without having the benefit of serving a year as treasurer-elect and has done a wonderful job watching over the chapter financials.  She is involved in Scholarship Fundraising, Scholarship Committee, and was instrumental in reimagining the Leadership Development Program into its current form, Pathway to Leadership.  Thank you, Tracie for all of your contributions to the chapter and to keeping the pipeline to the profession flowing!

TXCPA Accounting Excellence Award Winners – awarded by the TXCPA Accounting Education Foundation
Awarded since 1969, the Accounting Excellence Award bestows honor to an outstanding accounting student at Texas colleges and universities participating in the programs of the Accounting Education Foundation.  Every recipient has his or her name and year engraved on an individual plate for the permanent Accounting Excellence Award plaque at their school. In addition, an individual recognition plaque is presented to the recipient and the winners are recognized at a local chapter event. Congratulations to these super star students!

  • Briesen Cooper – Texas State University
  • Rahi Shah – University of Texas at Austin
  • Hanan Ismael – St. Edwards University